





United Kingdom National Commission for UNESCO





## Palace of Westminster and Westminster Abbey including Saint Margaret's Church

Located in the heart of London, adjacent to the River Thames and Parliament Square, this World Heritage Site includes three principal elements: the Palace of Westminster, Westminster Abbey and St Margaret's Church. The 19th century Palace of Westminster houses the two chambers of UK government – the House of Lords and House of Commons - and incorporates remains of the earlier medieval Palace. Westminster Abbey has been the coronation church of English (and later British) monarchs since the 11th century and is adjoined by various monastic and collegiate buildings and spaces, including those of Westminster School. Adjacent to the Abbey is the 16th century St Margaret's Church.

## What makes this UNESCO Designation special?

Westminster is the site of the oldest continually existing Parliamentary democracy in the world and continues in this use. Together, the buildings show the intertwined history of Church, Monarchy and State, which characterised the political development of the British Isles and have influenced development of parliamentary democracy across the World.

The Palace of Westminster is a masterpiece of 19th century Gothic revival architecture, the work of Sir Charles Barry and A.W.N. Pugin. It retains elements of the earlier medieval Palace. With its distinctive roofscape, it is one of the UK's best-known landmarks and the Elizabeth Tower ('Big Ben') has come to symbolise London and the UK.

Westminster Abbey is one of the great Gothic churches of Europe and the location where monarchs have been crowned since the 11th century. Its architecture spans the whole of the Gothic period, from the 13th century and the reign of Henry III (1216 to 1272) to the early 16th century, when the Lady Chapel (at the east end) was built. St Margaret's Church is a fine example of a late Gothic-English Perpendicular-style church. Originally founded in the 11th century as the parish church for the Abbey, it subsequently took on the role of the church for the House of Commons.



Palace of Westminster and Westminster Abbey including Saint Margaret's Church

County: Greater London

This factsheet was produced by the UK National Commission for UNESCO as part of its Local to Global project, made possible with The National Lottery Heritage Fund, with thanks to National Lottery players.



 parliament.uk/westminster-abbey.org/
parliament.uk/site-information/contact-us/ visitor.experience@westminster-abbey.org