? Prize Closed

UNESCO World Book Capital

Established in 2001, the UNESCO World Book Capital is designed to promote books, reading and a love of literature. One city is chosen per year to be the UNESCO World Book Capital.

International UNESCO/José Martí Prize

The purpose of the International UNESCO/José Martí Prize is to promote and reward an activity of outstanding merit in accordance with the ideals and spirit of José Martí.

Shenzhen Design Award for Young Talents

The Shenzhen Design Award for Young Talents (SDAY) is an international, professional competition for young designers under 35 who are from one of the UNESCO Creative Cities worldwide.

Felix Houphouet-Boigny Peace Prize

The Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize was created in 1989 to honour individuals or public and private bodies or institutions that have made a significant contribution to promoting, seeking, safeguarding or maintaining peace in conformity with the United Nations’ Charter and the Constitution of UNESCO.

Green Chemistry For Life Grant Programme

Established to give young scientists involved in research in green chemistry and allied areas in biochemistry, geochemistry, biotechnology, ecology and healthcare ample opportunity to demonstrate their inventiveness and provide important input to sustainable development.

UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize

Created in 1997, the annual UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize honours people or organisations for outstanding contributions to the defence and promotion of press freedom, especially when this has been achieved in the face of danger.

Carlos J. Finlay UNESCO Prize for Microbiology

Acknowledging the importance of microbiology for human health and development, the Government of Cuba and UNESCO have established a prize in honour of one of the most important microbiologists in history: Carlos J. Finlay

UNESCO Avicenna Prize for Ethics in Science

Established in 2003 by the Executive Board of UNESCO at its 166th session, the UNESCO Avicenna Prize for Ethics in Science is awarded every two years to individuals and groups with outstanding achievements in the field of ethics in science.